Encouragement.

You know what they say about studying – suddenly everything around you becomes interesting. So yep, suddenly packing my drawer sounds like a great idea while I was mugging for my paper that is on Tuesday so that’s exactly what I did. I actually bought a soft casing file quite some time ago, determined to get down to packing this particular drawer that is full of love and encouragement notes from loved ones but obviously I never got down to doing so, until today.

Anyway the main point here is: even though the file is really quite big, I couldn’t fit all the notes in.

all that love

Okay, I take back my words. That’s not the main point.

The main point is, I am really a very loved and blessed person. Not that I just realised, but looking at all these notes reminded me again of God’s goodness. God has been too good to me, really. I don’t mean to come off as cocky but I’ve got really amazing friends who love me as I am, who bother to set aside time to fellowship with me, who write me notes to remind me that I am loved. I am way way wayyyyy beyond blessed.

And then I started to reflect upon how I’ve been so stingy with my love and encouragement. I would like to comfort myself by saying that it’s because Uni has taken quite a toll on me but I know that it’s not a valid reason why I haven’t been as active in encouraging my brothers and sisters.

11 Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing. (1 Thessalonians 5:11)

Stated so clearly in the Book of Truth, and I myself know that little encouragement can really go a long way, yet here I am not doing so.

Well on that note, I really hope that I will work on this AFI and be more encouraging! Especially in this exam season where people tend to focus so much on academics that they forget what truly matters – reaching out to God’s people. So yes! Thank You Jesus for Your timely reminder, I will try to be a better channel of Your love and blessings 🙂

Leave a Reply

